How Do You Use the Energy of a Square?

IfIKnewBetter

Bear with me, I'm a beginner. Coming from someone who's chart is riddled with Squares I'd like to know.

I understand a Square is tension between two planets that needs to be integrated or released, right? So how do you do that? I understand it's all based on what each planet is doing, placement, etc but I'm asking for a general answer.

For example, in a Venus-Pluto Square. Do you focus on the energy of Venus, Pluto, or both to "alleviate" the Square?

katydid

Bear with me, I'm a beginner. Coming from someone who's chart is riddled with Squares I'd like to know.

I understand a Square is tension between two planets that needs to be integrated or released, right? So how do you do that? I understand it's all based on what each planet is doing, placement, etc but I'm asking for a general answer.

For example, in a Venus-Pluto Square. Do you focus on the energy of Venus, Pluto, or both to "alleviate" the Square?

It is hard to give a general answer that would be correct or helpful. It really does depend upon the houses, signs, aspects being made.

For example, if Venus was in a strong placement, like in Libra, Taurus or Pisces, and was angular, than she might be a worthy opponent of the challenging Pluto.

In that case, one could focus on the energy of the Venus, and use one's creative talents as an artist, musician, designer or craftsman, perhaps. One could use one's skills as a mediator or negotiator or a counselor and be handsomely rewarded/compensated because of the great respect that others have for their opinions.

HOWEVER, if the Venus is debilitated, and poorly placed, then the Pluto can do much damage. And the native might have poor skills in those Venusian areas. And one might lack discernment, creativity, social skills and self esteem. One may even take on the negative traits of Pluto and be obsessive or manipulative, jealous or greedy.