Astrology ethics

JUPITERASC

[Note: this is an off-topic discussion moved from another thread to create a new thread - Moderator]

I'm wondering how far I should delve into astrology before it's okay to start doing readings for pay.
I had an "aha" moment today: I'm currently studying herbalism, and last week, we had a class on herbs and astrology,
taught by a professional herbalist/astrologer, and as part of that, she gave everyone their birth chart.
Most of my classmates have little or no experience with astrology,
while I love to share what I know, so I end up just rattling stuff off.
Today, we were just hanging out having lunch, some people started asking about their charts,
and since I could answer their questions, I did...
and joked that I ought to charge for this.

Seriously, should I start charging people to interpret their birth charts?
I think enough people want me to read for them that I could spend a lot of time and energy on it if I chose,
and while I love astrology and love telling people about their charts,
I'm afraid that if I do too much of that for free (outside of this forum), I'll sell myself short.

But I'm not at professional level yet.

I know birth chart interpretation pretty well,

but barely have a sense of transits,

and I certainly can't rectify charts.

I don't know much outside of modern psychological astrology, either.

There's lots and lots to learn before I can comfortably turn pro.

I guess my question is, is it okay to charge money for this, as long as I make it clear that I'm amateur,
and I don't charge as much as a fully qualified professional?

And on that subject, how do you know when you're a fully qualified professional astrologer?
There's no specific certification you have to get, no government standards, so what's the deciding factor?
Important feedback from byjove :smile:
Hi,

I've asked that my account is closed today so it will likely be done very shortly.