Does size matter?

Manic_Monday

Does size really matter? :p
I was looking at my chart, and I was wondering wether the size of the houses matters.
For example: my 1st house is big (47 degrees), but my 11th house is only 15 degrees.
Are big houses more important than small houses?
Maybe an obvious question, but excuse me, I'm still a newbie at this.

Howl

I think this is one of those questions with too many answers, but to get you started, I'd have a look at the thread "Is this chart slightly abnormal?", in the natal astrology section:)

p.s. - cute name for a thread!

pwadm

Staff member
Yes, so many answers! I could give you at least 3 versions, all different, all well argumented, yet I don't think that is gonna help, as you might want an definite answer, something that would help you out with your chart. I just can't make up my mind (Mercury in Libra, seeing all the sides of the "tetrahedon") whether to choose one over another so my current position is that I accept them all as potentially valid.
So, take this as just another idea: house systems are just human divisions of the sky above the birthplace, each one embedding a certain philosophy on the sky and therefore reflecting another view of your nativity. Astrology charts in general are just conventional drawings designed to systematise astrological influences. Depending on your point of view you may choose certain chart design (circle, square), a certain house system, a certain system of orbs, a certain amount of aspects to consider (major only, some minors included, all aspects) and so on...

So, to answer your question, "does size matters", well the answer is classic: "depends on how you intend to use the respective tool"...

Manic_Monday

Howl said:
I think this is one of those questions with too many answers, but to get you started, I'd have a look at the thread "Is this chart slightly abnormal?", in the natal astrology section:)

p.s. - cute name for a thread!