Trying to understand angles of chart

graay ghost

I'm still pretty new to this and I'm looking at chart angles as viewed by modern astrology. I was getting the impression that the descendant and the midheaven are not really things that the native "has" in their personality but are rather things that they either seek out in others or is thrust onto them. Is this correct? How much do people "own" their descendant and midheaven?

Osamenor

Staff member
From a modern astrology perspective, everything in the birth chart is a part of the psyche, and can also represent life circumstances, and can tell us something about what we need from others, especially if it's placed in one of the other oriented houses, such as the seventh. Those placements also show what we can give. Seventh house/DC placements are indicative of what kind of partner you need and of what kind of partner you are likely to be. Tenth house/MC shows what can make our reputation, what we are likely to be known for.

If the sun is in one of those houses, that shows the most crucial area for personal growth. Someone with sun in the seventh needs partnership in order to grow to the fullest, and partnership is defined quite broadly: romantic relationships, close friendships, business partners, rivals, practitioner/client relationships... every possible kind of relationship that is between equals and accomplishes something. Tenth house sun might have a strong drive to be noticed, to be highly visible (or might be terrified of the spotlight but repeatedly thrust into it anyway, because visibility is a crucial part of that person's growth). In short, signs and planets on the MC or DC are no less a part of the personality than what's on the AC or IC, they just play out in the other-oriented part of life.

waybread

The angles are all part of the real you. Yet all of us start out as tiny children, so it takes years for us to grow and develop into the potentials of our horoscopes.