Astrology Vs Christianity

Summery Joy

Hello everyone,

Here's an issue that has been bothering me for a while; is astrology in any way against Christianity?

I'm a believer. I'm a Coptic Orthodox Christian to be specific. When I started learning astrology, I didn't even think of how to relate it to my faith and what my Church would think about it. Recently though, many of my Christian friends have started criticising me for how into astrology I am. They say it's against the Bible and all Christian faith. My gutts instinct... I don't buy it, but the problem is I don't know if they are right or wrong coz I am no expert in either subject.

See, the Bible has many, many verses telling the believer to use what God has offered. Some of these verses even refer to the stars in Heaven. I find this very much pro astrology. But the Bible is also against any form of prediction or divination, and this is against astrology.

I don't know what to think anymore and this issue matters very much to me. I have decided to continue studying astrology until it proves against the teachintgs of my Church. But I've also decided to objectively research this whole issue.

I need your opinions and help here. But I'm asking for an objective discussion. I don't think passionate, inobjective asnwers (be they pro or against) will be very helpful. Also, I'm mainly asking about Christianity because this is what matters to me, but I don't mind learning what other religions have to say about the matter.

OK. Here we go. I really pray that God will let His words into this thread one way or another.

Theo

Banned
Dear Sorehearted.

In no way is astrology against Christianity - in fact, astrology has been at the core of Chritianity, Hebrew, and Islamic thought for centuries.