Mundane Astrology questions

Senecar

Apologies for newbie questions.

I am thinking that in Mundane Astrological charts - the 1st house is the questied unlike Horary charts where the 1st house becomes querent. Is this right or wrong?

I have never done Mundane charts before, but thinking of doing some for studies.

And then what are the differences between Horary and Mundane charts in reading and things to consider?

Thanks for any of your feedback, info or advice.

Last edited:

conspiracy theorist

JA will eventually pull from his chamber pot of secrets, but mundane charts are looked at very differently from a horary chart, that is unless you're asking about a horary chart that is geared toward mundane issues, and there is a split in consensus as to horary's ability to answer questions not within the limit of "personal concerns".

Mundane is approached differently by modern and traditional astrologers. Modern astrologers make use of the birth/founding of a nation to make prognostications. The astro.com forum has a fairly active mundane astrology section where you can see examples of that type of approach. Some even seem to use progressions when making predictions on nations/huge entities. Event charts are used in the case of one-off situations, and some seem to get a lot of traction out of following that approach.

Traditional techniques involve using ingress charts corrected to the location under scrutiny, Jupiter/Saturn cycles that include not just the last 20 year period but concentric periods that span many hundreds of years http://www.skyscript.co.uk/mean_conjunctions.html. Both types of astrologers use transits. There is also a little known technique known as the dawr allegedly used by Abu Masher https://episthemologie.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/dawr/

I might have fudged some of the details as its been a long time since I looked at anything mundane astrology related, but that should get you off to a good start.

Senecar