Astrologers' Community  

Go Back   Astrologers' Community > General Astrology > Other Astrology > Research and Development

Research and Development This is a forum designed for applying scientific methods and understanding to all approaches of astrology, cooperative formulation and testing of new ideas, re-examination of known methods of delineation and interpretation, and the exploration of new astrological methods of all kinds (e.g. heliocentric models, planetary nodes and apogees, etc.).

Unread 03-28-2019, 09:29 PM

Question Can't wrap my head around a 2D birth chart

Hi there,

I am fairly new to astrology, but I have a hard time wrapping my head around the 2D image of a birth chart.

At the bottom of this post you can find a little moving 3D animation to illustrate where my confusion comes from. (It's quite a big gif file, so please give it a few seconds to load )

I understand that the equator has been divided in 12 equal parts of 30 degrees, which are projected into space. So, if you are born on the equator it easy to say in which sign a planet is.

Then, I also have read various reasons why the whole house system should be used. One of the reasons being that all houses are of equal importance. Then, based on the place where someone is born, you draw the houses around that place on earth.

Now, I can understand this all, as long as someone is born on the equator. However, if someone is born on another latitude, it all goes wrong in my head. My little 3D visualization also shows this. If you try to combine a 2D view of the 12 signs and a 2D view of the 12 houses, there is no way these two can both consist of 12 equally sized parts in the birth chart.

Again, I am a newbie when it comes to astrology but I really want to understand this. Can someone maybe help me out here? Am I missing something? Thanks a lot in advance...

Unread 03-29-2019, 04:40 AM

Re: Can't wrap my head around a 2D birth chart