Basic Questions

wonder

:eek: Hi Folks:

I am excited about this site. I have been a student of astrology for several years now but have never had much by the way of company on this adventure, much less knowledgable folk that could clarify any of my many, many doubts. I have now spent some time reading different threads herein and am delighted to see how serious and dedicated folks seem not only about astrology but about sharing what they know.

So, I want to start a new thread for those of us, if there are more out there, who have very basic questions about matters that, despite our many studies, have escaped us. I hope that some of the wise and knowledgable can come forth to help us fill in our gaps so we can finally move forward.

Here is a start. Many thanks to any kind soul willing to take me out of the fog.

Is it true that an intercepted sign within a house has little effect on a subject? Example 1st house cusp at 29 deg Aq, 2d at 6 of Aries. Will person have any piscean traits?

How do you determine a chart’s ruler?

BobZemco

wonder said:

The planet that rules the Ascendant is the Chart Ruler.

Because of that, no two Leos are quite alike. You have to integrate the 1st House with the house that holds the ruler of the Ascendant. A Leo Ascendant with the Sun in the 5th House isn't the same as a Leo Ascendant with the Sun in then 10th House. And then of course look at the aspects to the Chart Ruler.

waybread

I think intercepted houses do have an effect. It is almost as though any planets in an intercepted house (look also to Pisces' opposite sign Virgo) don't quite get enough traction, and the person may not get the recognition s/he deserves in that area.

For "Piscean" traits, though, look also to Neptune in your chart, or possibly your 12th house, as these can sometimes mimic one another.

But I would make extra-sure that the birth time is correct with an AS at 29 degrees of a sign, as 3 minutes' difference could put it at 0 of the next sign.