12th house

dna

I had always seen the 12th house as the subconscious...what is underneath...even the spirit in a way....I had a mentor for a few years and he told me to forget what i knew of the 12th house and see it as the house of the mind and also to look at the planets in this house to see what the parents took away- It makes sense to me but I also think it is more...(i still see the subconsious and intuition along with the parental issues) Im wanting to see how other people see the 12th house- what do you think of when you look at the 12th house?

Last edited by a moderator:

Francesca

The concept that this house contains what the parents took away is new to me, but it rings true in some senses.

I have Saturn/Pluto in leo conjunct in the 12th,both sextile to Neptune and Mars and square to Jupiter.

I have always been connected in some way to institutions, as would be expected, I guess.I worked as a social worker in many institutions here in NY State. I suffer from depression and arthritis. Now I work as a lawyer in Family Court which is certainly an institution of sorts.

But primarily, I think of this area where truths about ourselves "hide in plain sight", things that it may take years of living before we can appreciate or acknowledge about ourselves. At least it has proved for me. What about others?

laliqueviolin

Further, according to Dr. Karen Hamaker-Zondag, the 12th house may also likely refer to events and emotions that we experienced while still in our mother's womb and/or during the first year or so of our life. These are experiences which occurred so early in life that we're virtually unable to consciously remember them happening. But the images and emotions connected with 12th house events remain active within our psyche and continue to unconsciously effect us in everyday life and in our relationships with other people.