Professional Astrology

Niambi

Hi,

How does one become a "professional" astrologer? How many years must be devoted before achieving this title? Or....if you chose to provide readings as a services/business...does that make you a professional?

Thanks,
Niambi

waybread

I think anybody can call himself a professional astrologer, even someone with no credentials at all. Which probably explains astrology's dubious status in much of the world.

I am an amateur and happily so, but if I ever thought seriously about going pro, I think I would need a thorough knowledge of electional and horary astrology, in addition to natal chart interpretation and its derivatives (like synastry.)

I would read a lot of charts for people as an amateur (have already done so, for natal!) and pay attention to the feedback people gave me on my work.

There are major professional associations for astrologers that give coursework through distance education, as well as exams. If you pass them, you are entitled to list their credential . See: the American Federation of Astrologers http://www.astrologers.com/about/afa-exams/, National Center for Geocosmic Research http://www.geocosmic.org/educ/ , the Faculty of Astrological Studies (London) http://www.astrology.org.uk/ , and the International Society for Astrological Research http://www.isarastrology.com/certification . Also some well-known astrologers offer their own certifications in a kind of apprenticeship program.

While such exams are not required for professional astrologers, they do indicate the type of knowledge and chart-reading ability that a lot of pros think you should have in order to call yourself a professional.

mdinaz