How accurate are times on Birth Certificates?

Mike H.

Hi,

I'm relatively new here so I wasn't sure where to list this question so I just picked Greenhorn.

Since we're told the exact Birth Time is important in composing an accurate Natal Chart, I'd be interested in possibly hearing from nurses, doctors, midwives and/or mothers who have been there when babies are/were delivered.

In your opinion is the time listed on Birth Certificate generally close (estimated after the fact) or exact as when the child first drew breath? :confused:

Thanks in advance for any insight.

Mike

Last edited:

NicholasH

im no mother or nurse, but i've done a lot of charts and it seems peoples birthtimes are always rounded to the 5 minutes(9:00, 6:15, 4:05, 3:55, etc..). according to my certificate i was born at 10:05pm. not 10:04 or 10:06.

Stacey5271

I'm no doctor or nurse either, but I also feel like their must be a certain amount of rounding. Their first responsibility is to make sure that mom and baby are well. I wouldn't be the least bit surprised that they instinctively look at the clock when the birth happens, but that it's rounded in their minds if the clock is not digital (it can be hard to determine exactly which hash mark you're on if you're not close enough).

R4VEN

Yes, I agree, and the older a person is, the more `rounded' the time will be. My Mum always told me I was born at 4:20pm - but it may well have been 4:18, as no-one thought about astrology in them thar times. For my brothers birth times, she remembered 6am, or 7pm, which is an obvious round-about-almost.