Planets and Astrology

scorchers1003

Hi,

I am new to Astrology and was wondering for centuires thre astrolgers would have only used 7 planets but we gradually went to ten the back to nine with Pluto now not deemed a planet. Should readings only involved the original 7 and where does Pluto lie within this question.

Best Regards
Scorchers1003.:unsure:

Moog

Hi,

I am new to Astrology and was wondering for centuires thre astrolgers would have only used 7 planets but we gradually went to ten the back to nine with Pluto now not deemed a planet. Should readings only involved the original 7 and where does Pluto lie within this question.

Best Regards
Scorchers1003.:unsure:

It's a matter of opinion.

Currently I don't use the outer planets. That's Uranus, Neptune and Pluto, as far as I am concerned.

What constitutes a planet in the modern astronomical sense is a technicality, and of no relevance to me.

The moon isn't technically a planet either, nor is the sun. But I call them planets for convenience. Planet used to mean 'wanderer', so any perceptibly moving heavenly body is a planet to me. The outers blur the line there, because they are slow.

dr. farr

Moog is correct: it is a matter of outlook, and of the approach (or school of thought) one follows: neo-Hellenists and contemporary Traditionalist only use the 7 planets, and the 2 Lunar nodes (to a certain extent); Vedic astrology uses the 7 planets but has elevated to 2 Lunar nodes to planetary importance, so their system essentially applies what amounts to 9 planets; Modernist Western astrology uses the 10 planets and the 2 Lunar nodes (and will often count other bodies as well, such as asteroids)

Me? As an eclectic who uses elements taken from all the approaches, I do also include the 3 outer planets in my delineations except in horary, where I have not found the outers to be necessary in determining the answers to the horary questions.

david starling