PDA

View Full Version : Learning traditional astrology


HoldOrFold
07-05-2014, 01:28 PM
I'm a complete novice when it comes to traditional astrology.

Are there any good free tutorials that I can learn traditional astrology from the ground up? Where would be a good place to start?

Thanks,
Holdorfold

JUPITERASC
07-05-2014, 09:04 PM
I'm a complete novice when it comes to traditional astrology.

Are there any good free tutorials that I can learn traditional astrology from the ground up? Where would be a good place to start?

Thanks,
Holdorfold
INTERVIEW WITH TRADITIONAL ASTROLOGER BEN DYKES http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xP7LwIA9yMY


Deborah Houlding generously provides a number of FREE study aids

http://www.skyscript.co.uk/im/dignities2.gif

HOW TO READ THE TABLE http://www.skyscript.co.uk/dig2.html

FREE HORARY ASTROLOGY COURSE THAT INTRODUCES MANY OF THE BASIC TRADITIONAL METHODS AT http://www.skyscript.co.uk/dignities.html :smile:

JUPITERASC
07-05-2014, 09:17 PM
GUIDANCE ON TRADITIONAL DELINEATING NATAL CHART http://www.astrologyweekly.com/forum/showthread.php?t=48463 :smile:

JUPITERASC
07-05-2014, 09:25 PM
.....

SKYSCRIPT TRADITIONAL FORUM http://skyscript.co.uk/forums/viewforum.php?f=4 :smile:

HoldOrFold
07-05-2014, 09:56 PM
Thanks, I'll give those a read. Lots to take in!

sworm09
07-05-2014, 11:32 PM
I'm a complete novice when it comes to traditional astrology.

Are there any good free tutorials that I can learn traditional astrology from the ground up? Where would be a good place to start?

Thanks,
Holdorfold

I've been in a similar state for the last year or so, here's what I'd recommend:

If you have the money to buy books, go for Joseph Crane's "A Practical Guide to Traditional Astrology". It's probably the most clear, simple, and basic introduction of traditional (largely Hellenistic/Medieval) thought. His tone is really nice and he welcomes experimentation.

From there, Avelar and Ribeiro's "On The Heavenly Spheres" is a great way to build on it, though be aware that they leave some things out. Combining the two, you should have a pretty decent basis in the basics of traditional astrology. That's where I'd start looking at actual traditional authors as you've learned the vocabulary at that point. All you have to do now is learn to apply it through studying the old authors.

Christian Astrology is good, not because Lilly is the best thing that ever lived (sometimes he slips up, and if you've studied the two books above, you can recognize when), but because it rewards careful study and critique. Using the first two books you will understand a lot of the "whys" behind Lilly's techniques, allowing you to meld them as you need to rather than just following slavishly and it'll help you avoid taking the extreme examples presented in CA literally...which will help you with almost all traditional authors.

From there it's really up to you, but this should be enough to get you on your way. Good luck!

JUPITERASC
07-06-2014, 12:12 AM
Benjamin Dykes has translated several astrological texts
from the ancient languages in which they were originally written
and has written: INTRODUCTION TO TRADITIONAL ASTROLOGY http://www.bendykes.com/ita.php


HOWEVER


YOU SPECIFIED THAT YOU REQUIRE FREE INFORMATION :smile:

SO

Traditional Astrology Resources including articles, blogs, websites
listed at http://www.astrologyweekly.com/forum/showthread.php?t=65776


I figured it would be useful to compile a running list of web resources for traditional astrology.
This will be an ongoing project, so feel free to comment with your own submissions and I'll add them to the list!

Articles


Hellenistic Astrology (http://www.iep.utm.edu/astr-hel/)
An Introduction to Hellenistic Astrology (http://www.astrologycom.com/hellenistic.html)
The Living Signs (http://www.astrologycom.com/livingsigns1.html)
Astrology and Astronomy in Iran and Ancient Mesopotamia (http://www.astrologycom.com/iranastrol1.html)
Theoretical and Practical Astrology: Ptolemy and His Colleagues (http://www.csus.edu/indiv/r/rileymt/PDF_folder/theoretical.pdf)
The History of Astrology - Another View (http://pages.infinit.net/gazer/astrology/history.html)
The Nature of Mesopotamian and Non-Western Astrology (http://www.onereed.com/articles/nonwesternast.html)
Astrology and Judaism in Late Antiquity (http://www.smoe.org/arcana/diss0.html)
Hellenistic Astrology (http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=190689) (thread)
The Thema Mundi (http://www.azastrologers.org/Articles/NoblehorseThemaMundi.htm)
The Importance of Determining Sect (http://www.azastrologers.org/Articles/NoblehorseSect.htm)
Bounds, Terms or Limits? (http://www.azastrologers.org/Articles/NoblehorseBoundsPart1.pdf) (I)
Bounds, Terms or Limits? (http://www.azastrologers.org/Articles/NoblehorseBoundsPart2.pdf) (II)
The Ancient Theory of the Twelve Houses (http://stargazersjournal.com/blog/articles-2/the-ancient-theory-of-the-twelve-houses/)
The Facets of Fate: The Rationale Underlying the Hellenistic System of Houses (http://www.scribd.com/doc/82878278/The-Facets-of-Fate)
Joys of the Planets (http://www.astromundi.com/documents/JoysofthePlanets.pdf)
Night & Day: Planetary Sect in Astrology (http://www.scribd.com/doc/162714814/Hand-Night-Day)

Blogs


The Horoscopic Astrology Blog (http://www.horoscopicastrologyblog.com/)
Altair Astrology (https://altairastrology.wordpress.com/)
Starlight Knight (http://www.starlightknightastrology.com/)
Heaven Astrolabe (http://www.heavenastrolabe.net/)
Magnum Opus Astrology (http://www.magnumopusastrology.com/)
Peter Stockinger's Traditional Astrology Weblog (https://starsandstones.wordpress.com/)
Classical Astrologer Weblog (http://classicalastrologer.me/)
Seven Stars Astrology (http://www.sevenstarsastrology.com/)
Beyond The Heaven (https://beyondtheheaven.wordpress.com/)
World Astrology Network (http://www.worldastrology.net/)
Esmaralda Astrology (http://esmaralda-astrology.com/)
7Heaven Astrology (https://7heavenastrology.wordpress.com/)
Chris LaFond's Medieval Astrology Blog (http://chrislafond.blogspot.com/)
Primum Mobile (https://primummobile.wordpress.com/)
International Society of Classical Astrologers (https://internationsocietyofclassicalastrologers.wordpress .com/)

Forums


ACT Astrology (http://www.actastrology.com/index.php)

General Sites


Skyscript (http://www.skyscript.co.uk/)
The Hellenistic Astrology Website (http://www.hellenisticastrology.com/)
Project Hindsight (http://www.projecthindsight.com/index1.html)
Astrology Institute (http://www.astrologyinstitute.com/)
Renaissance Astrology (http://www.renaissanceastrology.com/)
The Lost Horoscope X-Files (http://www.astrology-x-files.com/sitemap.html)
Cielo e Terra (http://www.cieloeterra.it/eng/eng.index.html)
Gryphon Astrology (http://gryphonastrology.com/)
Classical Astrology (http://www.classicalastrology.org/)
Astrologia Humana (http://www.astrologiahumana.com/english.htm)
Benjamin Dykes, Traditional Astrologer (http://www.bendykes.com/)
Arhat Publications (http://www.arhatmedia.com/)
Constellations of Words (http://www.constellationsofwords.com/)
John Frawley - The Real Astrology (http://www.real-astrology.com/)
The International Astrology Research Center (http://cura.free.fr/index.html)
Medieval Astrology (http://medievalastrology.org/index.php)
Regulus Astrology (http://www.regulus-astrology.com/index.html)
Astrology - Andrew Bevan, Norway (http://www.astronor.com/uktour1.htm)
The Astrology Project (http://www.astrologyproject.com/)
Ancient Astrology (http://www.astroconsulting.com/FAQs/ancient.htm)
Forum on Astrology (http://www.forumonastrology.com/foa/newmain.html)
Astrologer Natasa Karalic Koprivica (http://www.natasakaralic.com/english/home.html)
Astrologia Medieval (http://www.astrologiamedieval.com/index.html)
Western Traditional Astrology (http://westerntraditionalastrology.com/)

Primary Texts


Vettius Valens Anthologies (http://www.csus.edu/indiv/r/rileymt/Vettius%20Valens%20entire.pdf)

Larxene
07-11-2014, 05:38 AM
I second studying Lilly's books. He tends to be more rational, as he sometimes attempts to explain why things are the way they are. For example, in the chapter on fruitful/barren signs, his explanation allows one to infer that productivity comes down to the aristotelian concept of moisture present in both signs and planets, as well as a splash of constellational symbolism. There are conflicting places though, as with most other works.

Notes on Lilly's work I recommend: http://www.skyscript.co.uk/sun_att.html

I also recommend Seven Stars Astrology (http://www.sevenstarsastrology.com/) if you want to learn the basics of hellenistic and persio-arabic astrology. The website is undergoing an overhaul so there is only one article up at the moment. You can probably read his old articles on Scribd.