Natal rulers vs. Natural Rulers

serena

Hi everybody,

I've been studying astrology for a couple of years but I'm still very unsure.

I read a lot of books and I attended a course... to make a long story short, I was taught in the course to look almost only at natural rulers but I know most astrologers look at natal rulers.

For ex. if second house is in Capricorn, Ii consider it to be in Capricorn and then I look to Venus and Jupiter, natural rulers of the second house and not Saturn (natal ruler of 2nd since it is in Capricorn).

I'm wondering if you also look at natural rulers and in case you look at both (natal and natural) how you manage data.

Sorry for my English :crying:

Anachiel

That is a modern association of the signs with the houses. It is based on the assumption that since Aries is the first sign, then Taurus the second, etc. Since Taurus is ruled by Venus then it must also "natually" rule the 2nd house.

This same train of thought associates Jupiter with the 2nd because Jupiter is thought to be "expansive"

Of couse, the signs and houses are completely different. If they weren't then we wouldn't need one or the other since they would be the same. Also, there is flaw in the association of houses and signs since Aries has not always been the "first" sign so, this is just a historical preference picking Aries over another "first" sign.

However, a pie can be divided in many ways but, the above is the basis for how those associations of the planet with houses came to be.

Blessings,

Anachiel

wilsontc

Staff member
Jupiter ruling the second house? to serena

serena,

You said:
For ex. if second house is in Capricorn, Ii consider it to be in Capricorn and then I look to Venus and Jupiter, natural rulers of the second house

I've never heard the "Jupiter" is the natural ruler of the second house. "Venus" yes, but not Jupiter.

Confused,

Tim

serena

Hi Tim,