Astrology book for newbie?

JUPITERASC

Hi. I am a newbie in astrology. Any book recommendations?

Original ancient astrological techniques
practiced and chronicled by working astrologer Vettius Valens almost two thousand years ago
include the Hellenistic Solar Return,
profections
the combinations of stars
and more downloadable

ALL FREE and translated by professor Riley at
http://www.csus.edu/indiv/r/rileymt/...s%20entire.pdf :smile:

INTRODUCTIONS TO TRADITIONAL ASTROLOGY
http://www.bendykes.com/ita.php

TRADITIONAL ASTROLOGY FOR TODAY
http://www.bendykes.com/tafortoday.php

Astronoodles

Honestly, the book that I would recommend for someone new to astrology is Chart Interpretation Handbook: Guidelines for Understanding the Essentials of the Birth Chart by Stephen Arroyo. The name is long, ahaha, but it's really easy to understand and grasp the concepts. I love it so much! Good luck on the book hunting! :)

Oddity

On 21K;19P. The Combinations of the Stars.
When he says, for example, "When Saturn and Jupiter are together," does he mean in conjunction or simply by aspect?

By aspect. If you continue to read the passage, he talks about the planets being in their own signs, ill-dignified, etc., and a lot of the sentences wouldn't make sense if it were conjunction only.

/49P/
This then is what we have explained
with respect to the distinctive characteristics of individual
stars as well as several taken together. If other stars share the configuration (being in conjunction or in aspect), the reading of the horoscope will be changed according to the nature of
the additional star.

Last edited:

waybread

I think a complete newbie would find Vettius Valens Anthologies (who wrote in around 150 CE) to be very confusing. He wouldn't even bring you up to date on the past centuries of developments in traditional western astrology. I am so happy that I learned modern astrology with these two books:

Steven Forrest, The Inner Sky