Natal chart predicting parental influence?

holly

This is going to have a similar theme to the "Birth Chart vs Environment" thread but different enough to warrant a seperate thread, I hope. I'm asking two things, one about home environment affecting personality, and the other about the natal chart predicting childhood circumstances.

Firstly, my family, being naturally suspicious of astrology, ask me lots of questions as to how and why astrology works. Most of the time I can sprout off enough information and complicated terms to keep them quiet! But one thing they ask that I haven’t been able to explain is the question of wether personalities can be explained by upbringing/parents/home environment INSTEAD of the natal chart.

As I’m not very good at explaining myself, I’ll use an example.

My dad is a Cancer Sun but you wouldn’t guess it. He is not nurturing, warm or caring. He doesn’t show any affection, can be quite insulting and cold, etc. He didn’t want to have us kids, so you can imagine that all of our lives he was emotionally and often times physically “absent.”

As the astrologer, I explain this through his birth chart. I see aspects and planetary positions in there that account for this.

My family, explain this through my dad’s upbringing. He was abused as a child and neglected by both parents. They never showed him warmth or love. These circumstances can explain why he has been “damaged” and why he doesn’t experience love. He was never shown love himself, so how can he show warmth, love and affection to me?

My family thinks that if he had of had a different upbringing, he would have turned out to be a different person. I try to explain that our natal energies are always with us regardless of environmental factors. A Cancerian is still a Cancerian, wether his parents were good to him or not.